The winner takes it Paull

May 31, 2018

There was plenty of action to thrill the crowd at Rushworth Speedway on Saturday night.

Goulburn Valley motorsport fans headed to Rushworth Speedway for the final time this season on Saturday, with a huge show on offer.

A new Australian champion Justin Paull was crowned in Compact Speedcars, the Victorians beat the NSW crew in Wingless Sprints and a local won the Dave Pollard Memorial.

Five visiting classes made for a massive day of racing that started at 1pm and went through to 10.30pm.

Melbourne driver Justin Paull became an Australian champion, local Daniel Wilson won the 3 Litre Sedan Pollard Memorial, James Powell won the Goulburn Ovens Sedan Association feature honouring Col Young, who had done so much for the Goulburn Valley Auto Club, Dean Heseltine won the Amca Nationals and Luke Schneider secured a Victorian win in the Wingless Sprints.

The Australian title for Compact Speedcars was the headline act on the massive program.

Six heat races were contested in order to settle the order for the 25-lap title race.

Alan Pitcher won the first heat as he set about recording the fastest lap of the night of 17.409.

Paull won the second heat as another four different heat race winners followed, Gaby Yammouni, Rob Rawlings Sr, then Shepparton’s Louis Rodriguez and Jason Essai.

Rawlings Sr started at the front and Rodriguez was his early race challenger with Yammouni, in third until lap two with Paull coming from row four into third spot. Paull moved into the lead on lap five with Rawlings Sr, Rodriguez, Hutchinson and Yammouni the top five.

The pace was quick at the front and Paull continued to lead with Rodriguez still giving hope to his local supporter base in second place.

Through lap 15 to 20 the top five ran down the laps in a hard-fought battle, but it all went wrong on lap 23 as Hutchinson came unstuck and out of the fight riding out a crash where he rolled five times and left the track sore around the ribs.

The restart wasn’t what Rodriguez was looking for as he was overtaken by Heaton and Rawlings Sr.

Paull motored to the win from Heaton, Rawlings Sr, Rodriguez and Pitcher to settle the Australian title top five.

In the 20-lap final of the Col Young Memorial, James Powell led Liam Powell, Danny McCarten and Mitch Watts for the first half of the race.

The race was fast and uneventful for all, but for the last couple of laps when McCarten, who had third place sewn up, dropped out of contention and James Powell picked up the win from Liam Powell, Watts, Little and Brewer.

A 20-lap final for the 3 Litre Sedans in the Dave Pollard Memorial was won by Daniel Wilson In Wingless Sprints Victorian driver Luke Schneider took victory.

The Amca Nationals final was won by South Australian champion Dean Heseltine, the GV Open Saloons win went the way of Thomas Conboy, and in the Ladies Saloons Kelly Lamb was victorious.

Lachie Fitzpatrick won the Junior Sedan event and in the GV Production Sedan action Shane Hutchins was never headed.

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text