Boys are hungry for taste of interleague

May 17, 2018

Kyabram District Football League’s risings stars are excited to try their hand on the interleague stage.

With no under-age football match played last year against Golden Rivers, the opportunity for higher representation was missed.

But it has left this year’s crop of players chomping at the bit to have a crack at the Colac District Football League team on Saturday.

‘‘We missed it a lot last year,’’ KDFL under-18 interleague coach Dean Wileman said.

‘‘You would play teams each week and they would ask when the side was going to be announced and you had to tell them that there was going to be no game.

‘‘But we’re absolutely excited to be playing this year.’’

Like most representative squads, the under-18 KDFL team has been affected by injury and unavailability, but Wileman was still impressed with the list he had compiled.

‘‘We’re pretty confident in it,’’ he said.

‘‘Obviously with injuries and what not we’re lacking a couple of players, but I’m pretty happy overall.

‘‘When you only get to see the kids a couple of times some are probably lucky to make it and some are unlucky to miss out, but that’s how it goes.’’

Colac is a distinct unknown to Wileman and his assistants — Brad Tinning and Ricki Shiner — but the coaching group has attempted to pick a side which can meet any challenge it is presented with.

‘‘It’s pretty hard being so far away, you can’t just duck down the road and have a look,’’ Wileman said.

‘‘But we have confidence in our own ability and we’ve tried to cover all bases with a few talls, a couple of zippy blokes and a few with a good build.

‘‘We’re going to go into it reasonably confident, we’ve got good some players and a good coaching group, so we’ll give it a good shake.’’

KDFL Under-18s

Ardmona: Jacob Donaldson; Avenel: Nathan Woods, Chayse Thompson, Connor McCloy, Liam Stevens, Shaun Bridges; Girgarre: Brent Maloney, Sam Wilson; Lancaster: Cameron Price, Luke Davies; Merrigum: Dylan Rowney, Matthew Fraser, Marley Edwards; Murchison-Toolamba: Gregre Hutton, Jordan Wilson, Nathan Liddell, Peter Hutton, Ben Higgins, Clayton Bedwell; Nagambie: Josh Boyer; Ike Jones, Joel May, Matthew Lange-Richards, Jake Jones; Stanhope: Jorge Maxwell, Danny Brock, Nicholas Witchell, Jono Pearson, Charlie Lloyd, Micah Schroder; Tallygaroopna: Jai Utiger, Riley Dryden, Jesse Ripper; Undera: Matthew McCansh, Josh Henry, Noah Bentancourt.

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text