In mix to pull on big GV guernsey

May 04, 2018

Punt Road Oval produced the last year’s AFL premiers and now future Goulburn Valley League premiers will have their time on the famous ground.

The stars of the GVL for years to come will put their talents on show on the famous Richmond ground on May 19 in the under-18 interleague clash with Ballarat Football League.

Headlining the 43-man squad is a plethora of Shepparton talent, including a handful of Murray Bushrangers representative players.

Shepparton and Shepparton United boast four players in the squad, while Shepparton Swans went one better with five including senior regulars Luke Whyte and Tyreece Collison.

Benalla’s bright start to the season has been rewarded with Baily MacDonald, Riley Johnson and Corry Westbury named, while blue chip Tatura prospect Ethan Moor and TAC Cup flyer Charlie Hill are also in the squad.

Five of Echuca’s debutants this year are in the squad, Jordan Frew the main attraction after playing every game.

The side will be coached by Jason Wells, who said the squad was based on the back half of last year as well as this season’s opening four rounds.

‘‘All clubs are represented in the initial squad which is a great reflection on the spread of talent across the league and the overall evenness of competition,’’ he said.

‘‘The first training session will be held on May 2 with further sessions on May 9 and 16, with the May 16 session to be the final team, including a couple of emergencies.

“The coaches are really looking forward to this year’s campaign and the opportunity to play at Punt Road against what will no doubt be a strong Ballarat outfit.’’

GVL under-18 interleague squad: Baily MacDonald, Riley Johnson, Corry Westbury, Thomas Rigby, Thomas Moloney (Benalla), Fraser Verhey, Jordan Frew, Liam Tenace, Trent Campbell, Riley Clarke (Echuca) Jake Penman, Robert Paradzayi, Andrew Crosbie, Marcus Heritage, Peter Cairns (Euroa), Daniel Lawson, Billy McLay, Harry Browning-Briese, Ben Napier, Samuel Langley (Kyabram), Joel Sanford (Mansfield), Broady Blackley-Dow, Kai Madgwick (Mooroopna), Andrew Henderson, Dylan Oaff (Rochester), Benjamin Rigoni, Nicholas Davey, Dylan Hockley (Seymour), Hugo Ingham, Andrew Pellegrino, James Butts, Spencer Small (Shepparton), Lachlan McMahon, Luke Whyte, Nathan Rachele, Tyreece Collison, Zac Alderton (Shepparton Swans), Adam Pigatto, Edward Adams, Fraser Hicks, Sam McInneny (Shepparton United), Ethan Moor, Charlie Hill (Tatura).

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text