Itching to attack the challenges

April 05, 2018

Kyabram's Keith Button will be looking to do damage as part of the GVBD Challenge Shield team.

Although the pennant season is behind us, there is still plenty of action to come before the bowls are put back in the bag for the final time this campaign.

A number of representative sides will take to the greens during the next fortnight to showcase the best Goulburn Valley Bowls Division has to offer.

On Sunday, the Goulburn Valley Ovens and Murray Challenge Shield will be contested.

The local division claimed the shield — which has been fought over since 1964 — for the first time since 2011 last year, and is keen to hold on to the prize again.

‘‘We’re definitely looking to defend it,’’ GVBD chairman James McLeod said.

‘‘We play against Ovens and Murray across six rinks, they each play over 21 ends.

‘‘There’s also an officials rink from each team which play against each over 12-15 ends as a bit of a friendly thing that doesn’t go towards the overall score.’’

The shield will go on the line at Stanhope from 1pm.

The Shirley Sinclair Trophy Day will follow on Tuesday and is played between the women of the three divisions of the Central Goulburn Murray Bowls Division.

Six rinks from each division will play for the trophy at Shepparton Park.

Also on the horizon is the Bowls Victoria Men’s Region Sides Championship from April 13-15 at Traralgon Bowls Club.

A squad of 12 CGM bowlers and two emergencies have been picked for the prestigious competition.

GVBD Challenge Shield Team

Rink one; David Cartwright, Col Power, Wayne Dagger, Dennis McHarry. Rink two; Paul Nichols, Daniel Nichols, Ken Sutcliffe, Brett Spargo. Rink three; Jock Hicks, Justin Spedding, Nick Boyd, Shane Walsh. Rink four. Geoff Franze, Graeme Myers, Graeme Thorne, John Dagger. Rink five; Jarrod Tinning, Kris Ferguson, Keith Button, Josh Warren. Rink six; Greg Shilling, John Stokes, Rob George, John Gribble. Officials rink; James McLeod, Mal Williams, Peter Naughton, Maurie Rowlands.

CGM Men’s Region Sides Championship Team

Rink one; Paul Nichols (Nagambie), David Cartwright (Kyabram), Daniel Nichols (Nagambie), Col Power (Shepparton Golf). Rink two; Ray Emerson (Barooga Sports), Steve Tatnall (Cobram), Greg Dunn (Cobram), Joe Lucci (Numurkah Golf). Rink three; Scott Fletcher (Kilmore), Max Hammond (Seymour), Mick Szczykulski (Seymour VRI), Luke Spargo (Seymour VRI). Emergencies; Shane Walsh (Stanhope), Rob George (Kyabram).

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text