Guthrie Medal makes Hogan hero of season

March 21, 2018

Deniliquin Rhinos all-rounder Andrew Hogan’s impressive season has been recognised, claiming his first Guthrie Medal at the Murray Valley Cricket Association presentation night last Wednesday.

The 27-year-old dominated the vote count early, polling 26 votes to finish in front of six-time best-and-fairest winner Luke Carter (Nathalia) on 21 votes and Riley Gow (Barooga) in third place on 17.

Hogan also claimed the MVCA Most Valuable Player award with 157.90 points, while finishing second in the batting average (509 at 50.90) and third in the bowling average (41 at 9.51).

Hogan said it was a tremendous honour to receive.

‘‘I figured out I’d won it with about three rounds to go,’’ he said.

‘‘I started my season well with the ball and then picked up my batting a bit more in the middle part of the season.’’

Hogan had been a key player for the Rhinos in their charge towards this year’s premier division grand final, which they lost to Barooga by nine wickets, scoring 587 runs with an average of 53.5.

‘‘It’s obviously been my best season of cricket so far,’’ Hogan said.

‘‘It’s been a good year for the team as a whole though and that helps keep everyone’s form up.’’

The Rhinos’ strong season with the ball was shown at the presentation night with Anthony Bradley finishing second in the bowling average award, taking 38 wickets at 7.76.

Hogan and Bradley were also selected for the MVCA Team of the Year, with Hogan selected as an all-rounder and Bradley selected as an off-spinner.

Other award winners for Premier Grade were as follows:

Bowling average — Ash Quinn (Nathalia) 43 at 6.16; Batting average — Mitch Cleeland (Waaia) 576 at 52.36; Gemmill Medal (Melbourne Country Week MVP) — Adam Decicco (Cobram); McGrath Medal (Bendigo CW MVP) — Liam Evans (Nathalia); Rising Star — Riley Gow (Barooga).

MVCA Team of the Year — Riley Gow, Daniel Hibberd (Finley), Mitch Cleeland, Luke Carter (captain), Brayden Carey (Waaia), Daniel McHugh (Finley), Andrew Hogan, Shannon Pool (wk, Katamatite), Ash Quinn, Adam Decicco, Shane Healey (Barooga), Anthony Bradley.

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text