Bushies go with Demons galore

March 07, 2018

A Shepparton United quintet highlights the Murray Bushrangers’ under-16 squad.

Zavier Maher, Mitchell Roche, Sean Thompson, Jhett Cooper and Sheldon Bogdan have made the cut after United’s under-16 teams both made the final three sides of last year’s Shepparton Junior District Football League.

Roche, Bogdan and Thompson were part of the United Blue side that made the grand final, while Cooper bagged 64 goals for United Red for the campaign.

Mooroopna under-16 grand final hero Jai Carn, who booted five goals in the decider in a match-winning display, was rewarded with a spot in the squad.

Shepparton Swans Will Dwyer and Scout Matthews were also selected along with Shepparton Notre’s Rhylan Thorne and Ethan Baxter.

Cobram was beaten in last September’s Murray Football League under-17 grand final, but a trio of the players leading the way in its progression to the decider — Harry Beasley, Luca Allen and Izac Artavilla — joined the Bushrangers’ fray.

Thomas Panuccio (Euroa), Josh O’Dwyer (Numurkah), Fergus Pinnuck (Strathmerton) and Sean McAllister (Tatura) were their club’s sole representative in the squad, with the other eight members coming from outside AFL Goulburn Murray terrain.

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text