Shepparton cricketing legends honoured

February 17, 2018

Cricket Shepparton legends were honoured on Thursday night.

Cricket Shepparton legends were honoured on Thursday night.

With the first staging of various lower-grade one-day finals this season, new trophies and medals have been minted, with some high-profile names attached to the awards.

All of the premiers in the new competitions this season were decided by weather, so the player of the match medals were awarded to the champion (or a representative) they are named after.

●Tatura claimed the Ron Grandell Trophy, along with the B-grade one-day premiership, after overnight rain forced the final to be called off without a ball being bowled.

The player of the match in finals to come will take home the Peter Holland Medal.

●C-grade’s crown, which was claimed by Pine Lodge after searing heat intervened in the lead-up to the decider, will be accompanied by the James Scott Trophy.

The Geoff Baker Medal will be awarded for future outstanding performances in the clash.

●The entire Invergordon squad accepted D-grade’s Lloyd Payne Trophy after also winning the lower-grade Twenty20 competition.

As with C-grade’s title, Invergordon’s was secured via a higher ranking when heat scuppered any chance of play.

The Rod Kilmartin Memorial Medal will be a coveted prize for players in years to come.

●A new A-grade award was also announced on the night.

The Brian Doyle Medal will hang around the neck of the player of the tournament in the highest level of the Twenty20 competition.

This award is objective, with points garnered from statistical performances.

But taking home the inaugural honour was Tatura’s Michael Archer, who compiled 216 points across four matches with 86 runs at and average of 21.5 and 12 wickets at 8.

Mooroopna’s Will Hale (202) was second, followed by Kyabram’s Cade Mueller (165), Numurkah’s Shaun Downie (152) and Katandra’s Jedd Wright (142).

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text