Same cauldron new warriors

February 12, 2018

Same place, different premiers: Deakin Reserve will once again play host to Haisman Shield premiership celebrations, but defending champions Old Students will have to watch from the grandstand this year.

For the 10th season in a row Deakin Reserve will be the battleground upon which the Haisman Shield premiership is decided.

Cricket Shepparton has confirmed that the region’s home of cricket will once again host the A-grade decider on the weekend of March 17-18.

Last season Old Students broke a 40-year drought to claim the title over Katandra, but this time around a new champion team will be crowned with the reigning premier out of contention.

Numurkah, Katandra, Central Park-St Brendan’s, Kyabram, Northerners, Tatura and Mooroopna remain in the hunt for glory with one round to go in the regular season.

The grand final will again be live streamed on Cricket Shepparton’s facebook page and broadcast on One FM.

The Clyde Young Shield will also be handed over this year, with reigning champions Central Park-St Brendan’s unable to qualify for the post-season.

Tallygaroopna Recreation Reserve will again host the B-grade decider after the Tigers claimed victory at the venue last year.

Mooroopna Main Oval has received a promotion ahead of this year’s finals series, stepping up from the D-grade decider to hosting the C-grade grand final.

The Jim McGregor Shield was won by the Tigers at Howley Oval last year, and the side is again in the running for success.

It will be a lower-grade bonanza at Vibert Reserve to round out the list of host venues.

Spectators will be able to traverse between both the D and E-grade deciders which will be held on the number one and number two ovals respectively.

Mooroopna currently holds the SJ Perry Shield, and will be looking to defend its crown against what will be a new challenger.

Meanwhile, the Whitelock Shield is a one-day final this season (the first since 2006-07) and will again be played on turf, with Pine Lodge in the running for back-to-back titles.

Mooroopna’s John Gray Oval will remain on standby in the event any issues arise with the selected grounds.

More in Shepparton News
Login Sign Up

Dummy text