Ryan staying on as Kyabram District league president

December 08, 2017

Kyabram District Football Netball League's president Wayne Ryan.

Kyabram District Football Netball League will go with an unchanged executive next season.

Wayne Ryan will remain as president of the league after the annual meeting on Wednesday night.

The fixture is yet to be finalised, but the league has locked in its grand final for September 22.

The decider will be up against the Murray Football League’s showpiece on the same day, with the Goulburn Valley League grand final on the Sunday.

A 20-round season has been given approval after there was discussion about cutting back the number of rounds.

Clubs discussed the recent AFL Goulburn Murray Future Directions Project, which proposed recommendations for the league’s junior structure.

There was a recommendation from the project that the league’s thirds age group go from under-18 to under-17 and to cap junior team lists at 26 players.

The rationale behind the league’s thirds moving to an under-17 competition includes aligning it with other district leagues, boosting reserve grade numbers and allowing the prospect of setting up an under-14 competition in the future, which is also a major recommendation from the commission.

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text