Euroa thunderstruck as Kyabram strikes

November 27, 2017

Well placed: Avenel's Jenny Furletti gently releases the bowl in her side's defeat of Shepparton RSL.

Directing traffic: Shepparton RSL's John Ross asks for some advice.

Beautiful technique: Avenel's George Peddler executes the perfect bowl.

A Kyabram thumping of Euroa has brought the side back into contention with the top four teams in division two.

Kyabram dominated the match to claim a whitewash of rinks in astounding fashion.

Peter O’Brien was the only skip to lead a rink win of less than double figures as he overcame Eric Sellenger by two shots.

But the remainder of rinks built a lead and marched on with it to create an 18-117 to 0-69 demolishing.

The day’s biggest triumph went to John Hausler who skipped a magnificent 23-shot win against Euroa’s Tony Kingma.

Noel Reddrop was too strong for his opposition as he combined with James Oliver, Nardo Di Petta and Maurie Hateley for a 13-shot win.

Sitting second last during the Victorian Open bye, Kyabram has swiftly moved to fifth as only shot difference separates it from Euroa in fourth position.

A much tighter contest took place on the Tallygaroopna greens as the home side was successful against Shepparton Park, 16-97 to 2-91.

Every rink was hard-fought for the points and Ross Higgins was the only Shepparton Park skip to prevail, taking his match by four shots.

Tallygaroopna’s Terry Lea-Whyte just pipped Don Dickinson, while Joey Lia remains undefeated from his four outings this season.

Shepparton RSL is still on the search for its first win of the season, as Shepparton Golf comfortably claimed a 15-126 to 3-76 win.

The scoreline was all thanks to the Roy Brown-skipped rink including Phil Blake, Ian McCarten and Paul Ledger who romped to a remarkable 50-shot victory.

Tatura upset previously unbeaten Mooroopna with the rinks of Jason Carter, Nicolas Tziros and John Attwood all playing a major role.

●In division three, Hill Top has entered the top four after overcoming Euroa, 16-116 to 2-76.

Graham Smith was fantastic in his 21-shot win, while Michael Power and Joe Marsters were equally impressive.

Shepparton Park clinched its encounter against Shepparton Golf as Jim Shanahan produced a stirling performance.

Rushworth claimed its third win of the season against East Shepparton and Seymour VRI also took the chocolates.

●Division four winners included Dookie, as it defeated Kyabram 18-113 to 0-75 via the positive influences of Gerald Ryan, William Kirkby, David Smith and Desmond Thorp.

Avenel, East Shepparton and Merrigum also claimed victories, with division five red winners being Shepparton Park, Seymour, Nagambie and Hill Top.

Stanhope, Mooroopna, Tallygaroopna and Mooroopna Golf tasted success in division five blue, as did Merrigum in division six.

Shepparton Golf and Dookie played out a draw, finishing with a 42 shots each overall.

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text