Runners recognised for putting their best foot forward fast

November 23, 2017

Shepparton Runners Club awardees Steven Trevaskis (Tom O’Halloran Veteran Memorial Award), Jason Hunter (Male Club Champion and Handicap Winner), Cadel Nicholson (Junior Club Champion and Peter Cody Memorial Award) and Sue Olley (Female Club Champion).

Shepparton Runners’ Club celebrated a big year at its presentation last Saturday.

At the event at Bicaro’s Restaurant the club looked back on individual successes and the handicap series.

The awards were presented to members who participated in the handicap series during the year, ranging from 5km to 10km.

Jason Hunter and Sue Olley came away with the top gongs, taking out the men’s and women’s club champion awards, respectively.

Hunter cleaned up the handicap winner award as well to cap a big night.

Cadel Nicholson was named the junior club champion, while Steven Trevaskis came away with the Tom O’Halloran Veteran Memorial Award.

Meanwhile, Nadine Edwards was named by club president Steve Ayton as the club person of the year.

‘‘Nadine has been an integral part of the club not only this year, but in previous years as well,’’ Ayton said.

‘‘Her passion, enthusiasm and commitment to the club is undoubted and the recognition via Club Person of the Year is well deserved.’’

The last award went to Kate Dainton, who received the most improved.

The club is participating in the Activities in the Park during this month.

Those interested can take part in training at Victoria Park Lake every Tuesday from 5.45pm, or on Thursdays at Princess Park at the same time.

For more information, visit the website or the club’s Facebook page.

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text