Every Dog has their day

September 25, 2017

Drought breakers: Merrigum celebrated its first reserves premiership since 1990 by defeating Tallygaroopna in the grand final.

Merrigum’s reserves team ensured the club picked up a flag in a different grade in the past three seasons.

The Bulldogs broke a 25-year senior drought in 2015 before the under-18 team won its first since 2003 last year.

Another drought was ended on Saturday as Merrigum won its first reserves title in 27 years.

The Bulldogs got the job done against Tallygaroopna to win by 11 points and consign the Redlegs to a second grand final loss in as many years.

Tallygaroopna finished the home-and-away season on top of the ladder before the Dogs peaked during the finals.

Brendan Leyden took out the AFL Victoria medal for best-on-ground as voted by the umpires, while Tristan Fitzsimmons (five goals) and Bryce Wellington (three) were outstanding up forward.

Jason Christou played an important role, as did Luke Twynstra, Dylan Fitzgerald and Anthony Cooper.

Merrigum coach Steve Lawlor said his team was a resilient bunch and was proud of them.

‘‘We’ve always been challenged this year and we’ve kept building and building and these guys never stopped. This is why we’ve got these medals,’’ Lawlor said.

‘‘This is for everyone for the last 27 years that’s tried so hard to win premierships and games in the twos.’’

Tallygaroopna was best served by Tyler Pedretti, Riley Thompson, Michael West, Lachie Karl, Trent Sidebottom and Cody Tancred.

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text