JR reckons he’s on money

September 22, 2017

Shepp News Footy Show host John 'JR' Ryan has released his annual Top 50 for the Goulburn Valley Football League.

Forget about the Brownlow, Morrison or Wilf Cox Medal because the only list you want to be a part of is the annual Top 50 put together by football personality John ‘JR’ Ryan.

Selected off the back of form and not reputation, the Shepp News Footy Show host is adamant he has selected the right 50 but thinks there might be one or two players who were stiff to miss or even be selected.

Echuca’s Simon Buckley has finished the season in pole position ahead of Shepparton’s Ben Davies, while Euroa playing-coach JD Hayes has slipped from second to third.

‘‘It was very hard to do, I spent about three or four weeks sorting it out and in the end, I think I have made the right Top 50,’’ Ryan said.

The highly touted number one spot saw JR split the last of his remaining hairs between Buckley and Davies but there was only going to be one winner.

‘‘Buckley was a deserved winner I thought, he finished in the best 16 times and it shows I was right with him winning the Morrison and also The News Award,’’ Ryan said.

Reigning premiers Kyabram had Lachie Smith (four), Jordan Williams (six), Liam Ogden (eight), Billy Burstin (nine) and Kayne Pettifer (10) all inside the top 10, while they had eight others rounding out the remaining 40 spots.

Bombers’ livewire Kyle Mueller was the biggest jumper from June’s count, weaving 35 places from 50 to 15.

Davies was joined by his Bears teammates Nik Rokahr (12), Luke Smith (19), Ted Lindon (26) and the injured Matt Shannon.

Rochester’s Dillon Williams, veteran Bears’ onballer Nick Allen and Benalla playing coach Luke Morgan are JR’s most notable exclusions.

‘‘That is part and parcel of it, sometimes some good players have to miss out on form,’’ Ryan said.

Jason Cole, who lead the pack earlier this season, slid 20 places after fighting a hamstring injury for most of the season.

Mansfield’s Brett Mahoney slotted into seventh on the list during his first season back in the Goulburn Football League, while Shepparton Swans’ BJ Squire, Tatura’s Andrew Ciavarella and Shepparton United’s Jack Norman are the only representatives for their respective club.

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text