Top honours for young guns

August 30, 2017

Euroa's Hayley Whitehand (Youth Girls MVP), Northern Angels' Tali Verhoeven (Scott Family Medal) and Kate Adams (third in the MVP) were joined by Emma Glazebrook from MBCM Strata Specialists.

Mooroopna White's Nathan Basile won the Owen Power Medal as the under-14's best-and-fairest player. Basile is joined by Owen Power's son Gary and granddaughter Annie Power.

There were joint winners of the Shepparton District Junior Football League under-16 best-and-fairest.

Kyabram Black’s Cooper Vick and Shepparton United Blue’s Sheldon Bogdan tied for the Ken Keating Medal on 17 votes each in the count on Monday night.

There was a tie for the runners-up as well, with Shepparton Notre Gold’s Orien Kerr and Kyabram Red’s Riley Ironside finishing a vote behind on 16 each.

Vick made it a double on the night, claiming the most valuable player award, voted on by opposition coaches, with Shepparton Swans’ Will Dwyer.

The under-14 best-and-fairest went to Mooroopna White’s Nathan Basile, who polled an incredible 29 votes.

Basile won the Owen Power Medal, finishing three votes in front of Shepparton Notre Gold’s Matthew Pellegrino.

The under-14 MVP was won by Shepparton United Red’s Bowen Calogero.

It was a close count for the Youth Girls’ top honour, with Northern Angels’ Tali Verhoeven winning the Scott Family Medal on 21 votes, with Mooroopna’s Tamara Smith the runner-up.

Euroa’s Hayley Whitehand was named the Youth Girls’ MVP.

In other awards, Finley’s Jorja Daniel (female), SGR Giants’ Andrew Hipwell (junior) and Shepparton Notre’s Tony Pellegrino (youth) were named Coach of the Year in their respective categories.

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text