One step closer

January 14, 2017

Greater Shepparton City Council’s community director Kaye Thomson encouraged nominations for the Hall of Fame.

The Greater Shepparton Sports Hall of Fame is gathering momentum.

The Goulburn Valley has a proud history of producing elite sportspeople and the initiative aims to recognise their achievements.

The public has a chance to be involved in the process for the inaugural intake of candidates, with the Hall of Fame committee taking nominations until January 27.

A Hall of Fame in Shepparton has been talked about for years, but the formation of an advisory committee last year sped up the process.

The objective of the Hall of Fame was to preserve, celebrate and showcase the history and heritage of sports excellence and achievement of Greater Shepparton residents.

Greater Shepparton City Council’s community director Kaye Thomson encouraged nominations for the Hall of Fame.

‘‘Greater Shepparton is well known for having a strong sporting identity, both locally and at state and national level,’’ Thomson said.

‘‘The Sports Hall of Fame was established to recognise the achievement of Greater Shepparton sports people who have made a significant contribution to their sport at the Australian representative level.

‘‘The committee has already identified a number of Olympians and Commonwealth Games competitors as well as Australian sports champions and sports officials from the Greater Shepparton area who could be nominated for inclusion in the hall of fame.’’

Nominees must have resided in the shire for at least 10 years, participated in their sport locally for at least five years and made a significant contribution at a national level.

Someone would only be considered for selection two years after retiring from representing Australia.

Legendary boxer Max Carlos, Olympic shooter Bruce Quick, champion cyclist Brett Lancaster and former Australian hockey star Louise Dobson are just some of the sporting greats who fit the criteria.

The selection committee reserves the right to apply flexibility when considering each nomination.

The committee will meet again next month to discuss some of the candidates put forward by members of the public.

Long-time prominent sports commentator Don Kilgour, Goulburn Valley sport stalwart Ian Fitzsimmons, along with Darryl Butcher, Jason Kelly, Margo Koskelainen and David Quinn are just some of members who have been on the committee.

Nominations can be sent in hard copy to Greater Shepparton Sports Hall of Fame or emailed to Belinda Conna at [email protected]

For more information, visit

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text