Golf around the clubs

January 11, 2017

Golfers that teed off early at Nagambie were rewarded with the best of the conditions with the heat and wind picking up later in the round.


Elizabeth Clarke with +1 was the winner of Wednesday’s nine-hole par event from Jenny Cannon with -1 on a countback to Sue Maynard and Barb Reiners.

Ball competition winners were Sue Maynard and Barb Reiners and nearest the pin 11th was Sue Maynard and second shot 14th was Simon Law.

On Thursday the men played a stableford event where the A-grade winner was Leigh Pettie with 38 points from Jim Mallis 36.

Mike Prater with 40 points was the B-grade winner from Ian Clarke 31.

Ball competition winners were Matt Kerr, Rob Geisler, Tim Gubbins and Jordan Meloury-Mason and nearest the pin fourth was Leo Hartup, second shot eighth was Barry Thorpe, 11th Graeme Mills and 14th Tim Gubbins.

Saturday saw an early start for the golfers due to hot weather that was forecast where they played a stableford event.

Duncan Berryman was the A-grade winner with 39 points from John Bray 36, while B-grade winner was Terry Allen with 33 points from Les Brown 32.

Ball competition winners were Barry Thorpe, John Munn and Leigh Pettie. Nearest the pin second shot eighth was Graham Highland, 11th Leigh Pettie, 14th Les Brown and second shot 17th was Duncan Berryman.

Coming events, today: 8.30am start nine-hole stroke event, front nine for the women, nine-hole chicken run, start from 4pm onwards back nine; tomorrow: stableford; Saturday: four-ball best-ball stableford aggregate; Wednesday: nine-hole stableford event for the women , back nine and nine-hole chicken run, start 4pm onwards front nine.


Golfers that teed off early were rewarded with the best of the conditions with the heat and wind picking up later in the round.

This was reflected with some hot scoring with half the field playing to or better than their handicap.

Winner for the day with a solid 41 points was Jeff Lodding, narrowly beating his fellow cart man Bill Leviston with 40.

Next best was the ever consistent and hard to believe his handicap has floated out to 20, Harold Raynor with 39. Greg Whiteman and Peter Lawrence rounded out the top five.

Nearest the pins went to John James on the 13th after coming within six inches of holing out and Jeremy Ezard on the 16th.

Next week’s stroke and monthly medal competition has been moved to Saturday due to pennant on Sunday.

Shane McCormick is on bar duty and Shaun Bryant on office duty.

Thursday’s chicken run was hotly contested with John Ford coming up trumps with a +4. No nearest the pin was recorded.

Men’s pennant side has started well with a victory over Rochester at Numurkah 3.5-1.5, with captain Barry Cryer claiming ‘‘this is the year’’ for Nagambie.


On Tuesday, January 3, hot scores were recorded in A-grade with winner Jason Welsh (11) 43 points beating runner-up Rob Handley (12) and Dave Faram (who parred the course) on a countback.

B-grade saw Andy Strange (16) 42 points win from Bill Chilcott (29) 40.

Nearest the pin, Angus Simpson (167cm).

Women’s competition on January 4 in division one was won by Leah Boyd (24), a great score of 7-up, runner-up Shireen Moore (20) 2-up; division two winner Thelma Bull (38) 3-up from Yvonne Moncrieff (34) 2-up on countback from Karen Hall.

Thursday, January 5, was a stableford multiplier with Paul Lott (17) and Maurice Crespan (15) 98 points winning from Mark O’Sullivan (14) and Ernie Knight (29) on 84.

Nearest the pins, 12th: Ross Anderson (26cm); 17th: Bob Shields (56cm).

The women’s nine-hole event on Friday, January 6, was won by Heather Groves 21 points from Yvonne Moncrieff on 20.

Saturday, January 7, saw Brett Barnes (5) win A-grade and the monthly medal with a fine 66 nett, runner-up Chris Brewer (11) 70.

Harley Cobbledick (17) 69 won B-grade from Jack Larcombe (12) 70 while C-grade winner was Darren Duckworth (21) 69 from Gavan Mears (18) 71; Women: Kathy Douglas (24) 72 from Ruth Stephan (30) 76.

Nearest the pins to Jason Welsh, Gerald Pennefather, Luke Dixon, Ron Nicholls.

Members draw jackpotted to $525 this week.

Pennant scores v Hill Top at Hill Top saw Hill Top defeat Shepparton 3-2 in five close contests.

Skipper Shane Myers, Col Basham and Ricky Lancaster, Tom Grinter went down in close games. Shane McDonald, Keith Rae, Geoff Hall, Ryan Earle halved their games and in a great comeback Rob Handley, Mick Shiels won on the 18th after being down by four through the game.

Next game v Rushworth at Valley View this Sunday.


A hardy lot of players endured the heat on Saturday for a stableford round. Scoring was good with the morning players excelling.

Best score for the day came in B-grade by Jason Demay with 43 pts. Demay also won the Middlin Mug for the week.

Sean Gledhill was runner-up with 42 points.

Keiran Sleeth scored 41 points to win A-grade from Adrian Gleeson who had 40 to be runner-up on countback from several others.

In C-grade Dylan Moncur scored 42 points to win from Jim Rae who made 40.

Club balls were won by Martin Schofield, Michael Barca, James MacGibbon, Matt Gibson, Mark O’Sullivan, Mark Lepp, Brendan Calder, Terry Gale, George Heneghan and John Bartlett.

Nearest the pin on the seventh was Jamie Coolahan; Bruce Lunch won nearest the pin and pro pin on the 10th; and Shawn Anderson won on the 17th

Peter Demay hit closest second shot on the 12th; James MacGibbon hit closest second on the 14th.

Michael Barca scored an eagle on the third and James MacGibbon ht the longest drive on the first.

Pro balls went to Jason Demay, Sean Gledhill, Dylan Moncur, Kerian Sleeth, Adrian Gleeson, Martin Schofield, Jim Rae, Michael Barca, Brendan Calder, James MacGibbon, Matthew Gibson, Terry Gale, Mark O’Sullivan, George Heneghan.

On Tuesday, Lindsay Simms won on countback from Jason Kittlety, both scored 43 points.

Vouchers were won by Roger Burrows, Gavin Madill, Sean Gledhill, Royce Gilbert, Steven Haigh, Rob Burgess, Ron Burrow, Jack Forster, Karl Staub, Neville Musgrove, Bruce Morris, Peter Demay, Richard Baker, Joseph Vlaming, Phil Sandland, Harry Garthwaite and Leo Jakobs.

Lindsay Simms won nearest the pin and Simon Evans won the pro pin.

Andrew Paynter won Wednesday’s twilight with 19 points from John Gledhill who had 18.

Thursday’s winner was Jason Kitlety who scored +9 to win easily from Laurie Steward +4 in division two. Rob Burgess won division one on countback from Adrian Richards with +4.

Voucher winners were Des Wright, Seve Faafoi, Karl Staub, Carl VanZiest, Stan Sewart, Harry Garthwaite, Martin Schofield, Lloyd Freer, Gary Cooney, Michael Handley, John Webster, Neville Musgrove, Craig Marshall and Royce Gilbert.

Jason Kittlety won nearest the pin and pro pin.

Next Saturday is a stroke medal round.


The first round of both section one and section two started on Sunday.

Section one was played at Numurkah where Numurkah lt Kialla 3 and 1; Rochester lt Nagambie 3 and 1; Rich River d Kyabram Parkland 4 and 1.

Next round at Nagambie.

Ladder: Rich River, Kialla and Nagambie 2, Rochester, Numurkah and Ky Parkland 0.

Section two was played at Hill Top when Tallygaroopna d Valley View 3 and 2; Rushworth d Mooroopna 4 and ; Hill Top d Shepparton 3 and 2.

Ladder: Rushworth, Tallygaroopna, Hill Top 2, Valley View, Shepparton, Mooroopna 0.

More in Sport
Login Sign Up

Dummy text